Klassiek Tip

Bruckner, Anton - Mass In E Minor, Motets
Choir Of Kings College Cambridge St

Bruckner’s E Minor Mass and a selection of his profoundly  beautiful motets were selected by Sir Stephen Cleobury  as his last album at King’s, recorded only a few months  before his death. Perhaps the deepest and most spiritual  of Bruckner’s masses, the ‘Mass in E minor’ is unusual in its  scoring for choir, wind and brass. It is recorded here by the  Choir of King’s College, Cambridge and the Academy of St  Martin in the Fields in King’s College Chapel. The album is accompanied by a specially-commissioned  Appreciation for Sir Stephen, written by Professor Iain  Fenlon, as well as Shades of the Past in Bruckner’s Sacred  Music – another commissioned essay on Bruckner’s works by  Dr Martin Ennis. “For many, Bruckner’s oeuvre is made up of nine fixed stars,  the numbered symphonies, orbited by lesser bodies. One  could, however, argue that sacred works such as those  presented here take us to the heart of Bruckner, man and  musician. Many of the pieces were commissioned; most are  ‘Gebrauchsmusik’, in the sense that they served specific  liturgical purposes. However, all reflect the composer’s deep  commitment to his faith. Bruckner planned to dedicate  his final, unfinished symphony to his ‘dear God’. The same  dedication could stand at the head of any of the pieces heard  on this album, the final recording of Sir Stephen Cleobury,  another faithful servant of the church, whose legacy is a  lasting ornament to King’s College, Cambridge.”  —Dr Martin Ennis. Track listing
1 Ecce sacerdos magnus (1885)
2 - 7 Mass No. 2 in E minor, WAB 27 (1882)
Agnus Dei
8 Tota pulchra es (1878)
9 Virga Jesse (1885)
10 Locus iste (1869)
11 Ave Maria (1861)
12 Christus factus est (1884)

€ 14.99

Klassiek Tip Archief

Nieuwsbrief Inloggen Bestellen Contact Over ons Winkelwagentje