Klassiek Tip

Muhly / Glass - First Light
Kuusisto, Pekka / Nico Muhly / Norw

Violinist Pekka Kuusisto and the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra present First Light, the first fruit of Kuusisto’s tenure as the ensemble’s Artistic Director, on which two eminent New York composers are cast in a Nordic light. The album offers the world premiere recording of Nico Muhly’s Shrink (Concerto for Violin and Strings), a unique, remotely-recorded rendition of Philip Glass’ The Orchard by Kuusisto and Muhly, and Kuusisto’s new string orchestra arrangement of Glass’ “Mishima” String Quartet No. 3. Violinist, conductor and composer Pekka Kuusisto is renowned for his artistic freedom and flair in directing ensembles. Since its formation in 1977 the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra has established itself as one of the foremost chamber orchestras on the international classical music scene today. Nico Muhly is one of the most-performed composers of his generation, and appears as pianist on this album. Kuusisto, the NCO and Muhly all make their Pentatone debut.
    • 1. Muhly: Shrink I. Ninths
    • 2. Muhly: Shrink Ii. Sixths
    • 3. Muhly: Shrink Iii. Turns
    • 4. Glass: the Orchard (From the Screens)
    • 5. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima I. 1957 Award Montagne
    • 6. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima Ii. Nov. 25 Ichigaya
    • 7. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima Iii. Grandmother & Kimita
    • 8. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima Iv. 1962 Body Building
    • 9. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima V. Blood Oath
    • 10. Glass: String Quartet No.3 Mishima Vi. Mishima - Closing

€ 21.99

Klassiek Tip Archief

Nieuwsbrief Inloggen Bestellen Contact Over ons Winkelwagentje