Klassiek Tip

Bach / Beethoven / Medtner - Bach / Beethoven / Medtner
Debargue, Lucas

The twenty-five year old French pianist Lucas Debargue was the most talked-about artist of the 2015 Tchaikovsky Competition.  As soon as Debargue began to play in the early rounds of the event (routinely hailed as one of the world’s foremost piano competitions), an extraordinary buzz of excitement began to develop around him. By the finals, it had crescendoed into a roar – and not just for his intense, muscular, intellectual playing, or his lyrical phrasing, but because his journey to reach that point had been so unusual.  His unique background was reflected in a paradoxical result. ‘The real winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition is the man who came last,’ said The Spectator. But although he was placed fourth in the final, his remarkable talent was recognised with the award of the Moscow Music Critics’ Association to ‘the pianist whose incredible gift, artistic vision and creative freedom have impressed the critics as well as the audience.’ Debargue did not touch a piano until he was 11 and then only began to take lessons at a music school in the small town of Compiègne, France. At 17 he dropped the instrument completely in favour of the bass guitar. He then began a literature degree and only took the instrument up again at 20 and studied with the celebrated Russian piano teacher, Rena Shereshevskaya, at the prestigious École Normale Alfred Cortot in Paris. At the age of 24, he dazzled audiences and critics alike with his unique talent at the Tchaikovsky Competition. Even Valery Gergiev, the competition’s chairman, broke protocol by letting Debargue play in the winners’ gala.  
Johann Sebastian Bach Toccata C minor BWV 911
1. I. Toccata
2. II. Fugue
Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata No. 7 D major, op.10 No.3
3. I. Presto
4. II. Largo e mesto
5. III. Menuetto/Trio Allegro
6. IV. Rondo. Allegro
Nikolai Medtner Sonata F minor, op.5
7. I. Allegro
8. II. Intermezzo. Allegro
9. III. Largo
10. IV. Finale: Allegro Risoluto
0:08:49     -
10.4         IV. Finale - Allegro risoluto     00:07:59     -

€ 22.99

Klassiek Tip Archief

Nieuwsbrief Inloggen Bestellen Contact Over ons Winkelwagentje